Forgetting How To Talk

I’ve been in a bit of a rut lately. Finding the motivation to get out of bed has been more difficult than it’s been in a while. I sleep too much. I don’t eat enough. I write a LOT though, but it’s all for work. For the last two weeks, I’ve been working on my first sci-fi novel. It’s supposed to be 38,000 words. It’s my second book with my raise, so I’m eager to get it finished and get paid. Money has been tight, but Chris and I both got raises, so we can breathe a little easier. Still, I have trouble…being, I suppose. I’ve lost my ability to talk. As in, have verbal conversations with people.

I don’t spend a lot of time around people, so when someone asks me what’s going on in my life or how I am, I kind of freeze for a second and I don’t know how to answer. I’m ok when they just talk about themselves, or issues at large. That’s easy. But I don’t know how to have an evenly-divided conversation where we really share with each other one-on-one. I usually just start talking about ghostwriting right away, because it’s ever-present and most people find it interesting.

Writing is easy for me. Having conversations…not so much. It doesn’t help that the people I’m closest to (besides Chris) are far away.

Leave a Reply

