Polishing Up

ImageI used to never be into makeup. I got my first piece of makeup – a black eyeliner – when I was a sophomore in high school. I just bought my first lipstick for my wedding last May. Gradually, I’ve amassed a collection of powder foundation, eyeliners, lip glosses, and nail polish. Nail polish is my favorite. My hands have gotten steadier and I no longer have to take four hours to get a coat that stays on. I’ve even attempted some basic nail art (stripes, dots, etc) with nail brushes. Colors include various shades of purples, pinks, black, white, tinted grays, glittery, and matte. My brands of choice are China Glaze and Sally Hansen.

Painting my nails gives me a feeling of calm and productiveness, like I have somewhere to be. When the depression is really bad, I stop taking care of myself physically. I don’t brush my hair or change out of my pajamas. Taking a shower is incredibly difficult. The idea of putting on makeup or contacts is laughable. Painting my nails is one of the easier things I can do to preen myself, and it sometimes is enough to jolt me out of a really bad mood. Choosing a color, carefully applying it, sitting and letting it dry, are all relaxing actions and when it’s done, it doesn’t seem so much of a challenge to also brush my hair or change my clothes.

It’s the little things that help.

4 thoughts on “Polishing Up

  1. I love painting my nails too. I keep mine painted pretty much all of the time because otherwise I am too tempted to pick at them. I have way too much nail polish though, I am always buying new colours! đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

