Gamer Girl

Image

I’ve always been a gamer at heart. We didn’t have a gaming system, so I stocked up on Spider-Man computer games and played Mario Kart at my friends’ house whenever I had a chance. Youtube walkthroughs and “collections like “The Worst Villains in Video Games” kept me up to date on all the major games and inside info. When I met Chris, he was playing NBA 2K12, but never when we were together so I didn’t think much of his Playstation 3. It wasn’t until a buddy from Chris’ work lent him Assassin’s Creed 3 that my gamer girl came to life.

It was everything I had ever dreamed of. Fantastic graphics, an intriguing setting during the Revolutionary War, swords, mystery…I was addicted. The rest of the Assassin’s Creed series followed, then the Uncharted games, a Spider-Man, the Tomb Raider reboot. Video games are comparable to books for me; it’s a way to escape. Unlike books, games are visual, they’ve become structured like interactive movies. This is the new storytelling, they don’t resort to basic point and shoot, where the only goal is to destroy. There are still games that are like that obviously, but there’s a choice now, and I choose story every time.

Games In Order of Preference:

Assassin’s Creed: Revelations

This game is the WORST. There’s actually a whole mission where I’m supposed to follow a guy to see where he picks flowers and if he sees me, I lose.

Spider-Man: Edge of Time

This was a disappointment. The combat style was fun, but the story was choppy and confusing.

Red Dead Redemption

Visually, this is the one of the most stunning games in years. However, I prefer swords over pistols, and toward the end of the game, my missions were dedicated to breaking horses and hunting. Seemed odd.

L.A. Noire

This is the game that’s famous for using the technology that made Gollum and Caesar come to live (LOTR and Rise of the Planet of the Apes), so their facial expressions are stunning. There’s no real fighting though, and the contrast between their lifelike faces and choppy movement is startling.

Infamous 1

A grungy superhero story about a bike messenger who gains control over electricity after a catastrophe. The combat style is smooth and I liked all the side missions. The graphics are pretty poor though. Everyone is hideous.

Infamous 2

The graphics in this sequel are a huge improvement. Everything else is essentially the same.

Dishonored

The story and the look of this game are brilliant. It’s very diesel-punk and the attention to detail is almost exhausting. It’s a first-person game though, and there were little glitches in the controls that made the game SO FRUSTRATING.

Assassin’s Creed 2

The beginning of the Ezio trilogy. The story is great as always (the Assassin’s Creed series is famous for its story), but the combat style is a bit clunky.

DMC: Devil May Cry

Over the top and vivid. The combat style is my favorite of any game, there’s a huge selection of weapons and selecting them is extremely smooth. The story is pretty straightforward after a certain time though, so no real surprises there.

Uncharted 2

Drake is a great character. Even though he primarily uses guns, I didn’t mind. The character graphics are fantastic, too.

Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood

There’s a lot of extra stuff in this game, but it adds to the game instead of distracting. I like dying my clothes and buying dozens of treasure maps. I would play all the side missions while waiting for Chris before we tackled the main storyline.

Uncharted 3

Lots of environments (jungle, desert, city) and a great villain. In a movie, she would so be Helen Mirren.

Tomb Raider

A fantastic reboot. Lara Croft is brought back to life and I loved playing as a female character. She’s got all kinds of weapons; arrows, guns, shotguns…super fun.

Assassin’s Creed 3

The first game I truly loved. It sprawls across two generations in a truly epic manner. There were lots of gasping moments and I learned I could actually feel emotional about a video game.

Leave a Reply

