Why A&E Made The Right Call About Phil Robertson

Screen shot 2013-12-18 at 11.00.03 PM
Is anyone surprised that this is the face of a man who makes anti-gay comments?

Phil Robertson of “Duck Dynasty” fame has been suspended indefinitely from the A&E show that follows he and his family as they go about their lives as owners of a millionaire-dollar duck call business. Why? Well, it seems the man made some comments in an interview with GQ that a lot of people are upset about.

“It seems like, to me, a vagina—as a man—would be more desirable than a man’s anus. That’s just me. I’m just thinking: There’s more there! She’s got more to offer. I mean, come on, dudes! You know what I’m saying? But hey, sin: It’s not logical, my man. It’s just not logical.” 

In addition to displaying an atrocious level of ignorance, Phil goes on to say that homosexuality will “morph” into bestiality. He also offers his opinion on civil rights and life during the Jim Crow era:

“I never, with my eyes, saw the mistreatment of any black person. Not once. Where we lived was all farmers. The blacks worked for the farmers. I hoed cotton with them. I’m with the blacks, because we’re white trash. We’re going across the field…. They’re singing and happy. I never heard one of them, one black person, say, ‘I tell you what: These doggone white people’—not a word!… Pre-entitlement, pre-welfare, you say: Were they happy? They were godly; they were happy; no one was singing the blues.”

Wow. Ok. Thanks, Phil. Black people were happier under the Jim Crow laws. Thanks for that. As a result of his remarks, he will no longer be included during the shooting of future episodes. Not surprisingly, a lot of people are angry about A&E’s decision, shouting “Free speech!” and complaining that political correctness has gone too far. I’m sorry, but it is “too far” to ask that a person does not compare a relationship between two consenting adults with having sex with animals? Well, see, he can make these remarks if he wants, and not be arrested, and that is what free speech is for. However, you can be fired from a job for saying things that your employer does not like. Especially when it’s targeted at a specific group. You go into any office as an employee and start talking about how gay people are going to hell, you will probably get that pink slip. When someone says stuff like this and you keep them on, you are saying that you approve or at least passively fostering an environment that allow this kind of attitude. Not cool.

It’s not “anti-Christian” for A&E to suspend him, because what Phil said was not a Christian message. He should have known that what he was saying would not be widely accepted; if he is surprised that there are consequences for what you say, he is, frankly, an idiot.

4 thoughts on “Why A&E Made The Right Call About Phil Robertson

  1. OPINION: A personal view: the view somebody takes about an issue, especially when it is based solely on personal judgment. Phil Roberson was making an opinion based on his thoughts and views.

    “It seems like, to me, a vagina—as a man—would be more desirable than a man’s anus. That’s just me. I’m just thinking: There’s more there! She’s got more to offer. I mean, come on, dudes! You know what I’m saying? But hey, sin: It’s not logical, my man. It’s just not logical.”

    Basically heres what he was saying (in a not so fancy frilly way)

    It seems to me that as a man I would find a woman’s body more desirable then a man’s body. Thats just me though that is my thinking. TO ME she has more to offer then another man. But wrongful acts are not logical they just arent logical.

    Ok now that I broke that one down lets look deeper…. He has Christian values, and in scripture it says Adam and Eve NOT Adam and Steve. That God gave man woman to be his partner. So he is saying he believes in the traditional manner of man with woman. He’s not saying anything anti gay he is giving his personal view you know an OPINION on traditional man with woman relationship. He never once said gays were horrible he did not speak bad of gays he simply stated I guess its just me but I believe man should be with woman. Ok moving on to the next quote…

    “I never, with my eyes, saw the mistreatment of any black person. Not once. Where we lived was all farmers. The blacks worked for the farmers. I hoed cotton with them. I’m with the blacks, because we’re white trash. We’re going across the field…. They’re singing and happy. I never heard one of them, one black person, say, ‘I tell you what: These doggone white people’—not a word!… Pre-entitlement, pre-welfare, you say: Were they happy? They were godly; they were happy; no one was singing the blues.”

    This one I can understand how it could be taken out of context. He pretty much stated that he grew up where there was farmers and black slaves. You have to understand as a child things may go unnoticed. Being an adult and a mom I understand this, watching disney movies there were no adult jokes they were just good movies. Rewatching them now as an adult I pick up on the jokes and such. In the same way Phi was stating growing up he did not see the mistreatment of blacks and of course the slaves would not speak bad of whites if he was around because hes white. And when he heard them sing most likely he did not pick up on the fact that they were blues in his eyes as a child they were happy singing to be happy to work because in his eyes they were probably very godly individuals to him. He was speaking on how AS A CHILD growing up he did not see those things. Never did he say he didnt see them now, he was speaking on HIS PAST from his eyes when he was growing up. That is not hate to blacks that is simply a man speaking his thoughts on his perspective growing up around that and what he saw. Is it right to insult a man, criticize, judge him based on what he has told you about his past? NO its not, you would not want me to judge you like a book based on a memory you spoke of your past.

    I do not understand what the hell is wrong with a man giving his opinions based on his past and his views he was brought up with? They are his opinions, he didn’t demand everyone agree with him, he simply stated his thoughts and he gets suspended, and why? Because his opinion offended some people? Unfortunately, people sometimes say and do things that are careless, blunt, or even possibly insensitive. While we can’t control the intentions or behavior of others, we can determine how we will act. We can choose to not be offended. If every station suspended a show or person because someone chose to be offended then we would not have much to watch on tv. So personally I think unless the person is going outside contract or harming/threatening the safety of the tv channel I do not see the need for a person or show to be suspended for just having their opinion. As I said we cannot control others and how they are but we can choose how to react to it. So what a show a person on tv has offended you, then simply don’t watch the show. Simple logic!

    1. He said that gay people are going to hell (in his paraphrase of a bible verse). That is pretty hatful. A&E caters to a diverse group and Phil is not being sensitive to that, it’s not a matter of watching his show or not, it’s that he is representing A&E, and they do not like what he said. They are totally within their rights.

  2. I totally agree with you. It is sad though when one side can say almost anything and the other cannot. However, his comments went beyond personal beliefs or convictions. I cannot even read his comments all the way.

Leave a Reply

